Sexual Conduct with a Child

If you are accused of oral copulation or sexual penetration with a child who is 10 years of age or younger in California, you are facing extremely serious consequences and you should retain an attorney immediately. This offense is charged as a felony. A conviction of sexual conduct with a child could be punishable by 15 years to life in prison. If the police contact you to discuss any allegations against you relating to sexual conduct with a child, do not speak with them until consulting with an attorney.

California Penal Code Sections 288.7(a) and (b) set penalties for sexual acts with a child 10 years old or younger. Subdivision (a) states,

“[a]ny person 18 years of age or older who engages in sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child who is 10 years of age or younger is guilty of a felony.”

This offense is a felony. A conviction of this offense could be punishable by 25 years to life in prison. If you are accused of sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child who is 10 years of age or younger in California, you are facing extremely serious consequences and you should hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Subdivision (b) states,

“[a]ny person 18 years of age or older who engages in oral copulation or sexual penetration with a child who is 10 years of age or younger is guilty of a felony.”

This offense is a felony. A conviction of this offense could be punishable by 15 years to life in prison. If you are accused of oral copulation or sexual penetration with a child who is 10 years of age or younger in California, you are facing extremely serious consequences and you should hire an attorney immediately.

If you are accused of sex crimes involving children, you have rights to fair treatment and a trial. In order for the prosecution to prove their case, they must prove each of the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt:

  1. The defendant engaged in an act of sexual intercourse, or sodomy, or oral copulation, or sexual penetration with a child;
  2. When the defendant did so, the child was 10 years of age or younger; and
  3. At the time of the act, the defendant was at least 18 years old

It is important to note that a person becomes one year older as soon as the first minute of his or her birthday has begun.

If you or a loved one is facing charges or have been contacted by law enforcement in LA, Los Angeles County or anywhere in the state of California to discuss accusations of sexual conduct with a child or child sexual abuse, call criminal defense attorney Jerod Gunsberg in Los Angeles at (323) 633-3423 for a free and confidential consultation or get in touch via the secure contact form on this page. Help is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Call Now Button